January 24, 2023 Delivery via Email

Anne Weaver
Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation
Division of Water
Wastewater Discharge Authorization Program
555 Cordova Street Anchorage, AK 99501
(907) 269-7483
Anne.Weaver@alaska.gov Anne Weaver

RE: DEC Permit Number AKG130000 Draft Alaska Hatchery Operators Withdraw Request For Public Hearing

Mrs. Weaver,

After discussion with the ADEC director and staff, the Alaskan Hatchery Operators are withdrawing their request for a public hearing on the issuance of AKG130000. It is our understanding that an in-person applicant meeting will be held during the 5-day potential applicant review period once the proposed final permit is made publicly available. This meeting format is more conducive for the hatchery operators to have dialogue with the ADEC on specific concerns and clarification of questions once the proposed final permit is made available.

The hatchery operators respectfully request the meeting be held in Juneau. This will allow ADFG-PNP coordinators to participate in person. While all hatchery operators will make every attempt to attend an in-person meeting, we thought it may be helpful to inform the ADEC that the hatchery operators have existing meeting commitments. Specially, most operators will be in Juneau for the UFA meeting from February 21st to 23rd. A meeting on either end of this time period would be logistically convenient for our operators. Additionally, the statewide Board of Fish meeting in Anchorage begins on March the 9th with the Hatchery Committee, and is currently scheduled to end on the 13th of March and would preclude participation in another meeting.

On behalf of the Alaska private non-profit salmon hatchery operators, thank you for your time and assistance through this permit reissuance process.

Sincerely,

Sut Wagne

Scott Wagner, General Manager NSRAA 1308 Sawmill Creek Rd Sitka, AK 99835 (907) 747-6850

Katie Harms, Executive Director DIPAC 2697 Channel Drive Juneau, AK 99801 (907) 463-5114

Mike Wells, Executive Director VFDA 1815 Mineral Creek Loop Rd P.O. Box 125 Valdez, AK 99686 (907) 835-4874

Geoff Clark, General Manager PWSAC 500 1st St Cordova, AK 99574 (907) 424-7511 Susan Doherty, General Manager SSRAA 14 Borch St Ketchikan, AK 99901 (907) 225-9605

Dean Day, Executive Director CIAA 40610 Kalifornsky Beach Rd Kenai, AK 99611 (907) 283-5761

Tina Fairbanks, Executive Director KRAA 104 Center Ave, Suite 205 Kodiak, AK 99615 (907) 486-6555

Bryanna Graham, General Manager AKI PO Box 1075 Sitka Ak, 99835 (907) 586-3443

CC: Randy Bates, ADEC Division of Water Director
Jason Brune, ADEC Commissioner
Douglas Vincent-Lang, ADFG Commissioner
Garold Pryor, ADFG Salmon Fishery Enhancement and Hatcheries Section Chief